Stretch & bend

It’s Saturday in New York and the streets are calling.

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I learned that it’s easier to walk than ride a bike to many places. Between being a mere block from Union Square and hopping the train with pedestrian friends, as well as the glut of taxi & truck traffic that makes the streets impassable at times, going by foot just ends up being most reasonable. Being an Angeleno, one from the Valley no less, walking (as a form of transportation) is a bit of a novelty.

My calves find it a novelty, too–by the days end they ached in a new way, pulling and stretching in a way pedaling just doesn’t do.

My first stop was the Post Office to ship out a couple much-delayed care packages, and then I was headed towards the notorious Union Square, for a stopoff at Barnes & Noble–and its exhaustive magazine selection, more specifically. On my way over I happened upon the farmer’s market in Union Square Park.

image

image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Piles of carrots, radishes, garlic bulbs and greens–spinach, lettuce, chards and kales–punctuated the scene. The sweetly overpowering scent of apples swirled through the air. Artisanal breads, sausages, cheeses, pies and jams dotted the market between the farm and garden stands, one of which announced: “Last day for tomato plants.” The bounty made me nostalgic for my home kitchen and garden as I took in the regional offerings and sampled locally-made pickles, jam, and wine (I am now yearning to make a trip to the Seneca-based Anthony Road winery in the Finger Lakes wine country).

I wandered through the rest of the park as well, where the subtle scents of roses and hydrangeas mingled with the audible joy of small children and languid air of casual park patrons.image

image

image

After my park-and-market stroll I ventured across the street to the bookstore, where I gathered an arms-full worth of magazines–everything from the New Yorker and Time to More, Bust, Bicycling, Self, Lantham’s, ReadyMade, Mental Floss and several others–and spent a few hours scanning and scouring in the name of professional research and inspiration. As the afternoon wore on, I departed and made my way to Coney Island and eventually a musical night in Brooklyn, which I shall detail in my next entry. I do hope you had a fulfilling Saturday too!

Leave a Reply

