Peanut Butter Jelly Time

PB&J #'s 3 & 4

My clothes are still drying, so I will tell you about my new “diet.” I’ve decided to go on a PB&J diet, since it seems like the most practical choice for a traveler by myself. My first weekend in Portland I ran around with tortillas, cheese, turkey and a bottle of ranch. It worked because the weather was cool so the meat & cheese didn’t get weird. I ended up with tortillas and a bottle of ranch, with which I made a snack I dubbed “trailer park quesadillas.” They were pretty OK, and having a bottle of ranch dressing around can be pretty handy (second, of course to a bottle of Tapatio). But enough about the things I ate last week, I am now on a PB&J diet. A funny thing about choosing such a simple food to be my on-the-road staple is how many choices I have in composing a simple PB&J sandy. There are virtually endless kinds of bread, and I do mean endless…including rolls and pitas and all manner of bready substances. The same goes for peanut butters: Peanut butter made with palm oil is labeled “Natural” but those with hydrogenated oil are not; some contain salt; some contain sugar. While I opted for the cheapest loaf of enriched wheat bread; I scanned peanut butter labels until I found the one that listed simply “PEANUTS” as its’ sole ingredient. Same goes for jam – Gimme the one without the weird shit in it. The whole process makes me wants to bake my own bread, and cook up some homemade peanut butter and jelly. But I’ll save that for another time.

I will be keeping a log of how many peanut butter and jelly sandwiches I consume along the way. So far I’m at 4; they’re not the only thing I’ve been eating–Just my road staple.

Also, I have decided that they are a perfect travel food because they are shaped like arrows and can point the way.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Jelly Time

Leave a Reply

