A Wanderin’

I have been away from L.A. for 10 days, soaking up the sights and sounds (and smells) of the lush, green Northwest. Cascadialand. It’s my first time “free” – free from time constraints, deadlines, destinations, obligations and expectations. Just out on my own, exploring and experiencing and meeting new people and playing bike polo in new places. My computer arrived in Seattle, at the Polo Mansion, yesterday – so now I am back online, and have been gathering photos and tidbits to share. Many of my photos still need editing, and I am eager to get back out to the Northwest Folklife Fest in downtown Seattle. I have been wandering and poloing in Seattle since Thursday afternoon, enjoying a mostly sunny city. The hills here are great fun to ride; as soon as we exited the freeway into the city I thought “these hills rival SF.” I haven’t figured out yet which city is hillier, but riding here is rewarding – either you’re cutting the wind as you fly down one, or you are reveling in the ache and burn, pushing upward. This is a city for clipless riders, and for front brakes. I have one, but not the other. Luckily there hasn’t been too much rain, but my first downhill ventures here were in the steady rain and a bit precarious, knowing my rear v-brake will only stop me so much. Nonetheless, I am eager to get out and ride again. It’s all downhill to downtown, so I will be back at Folklife in no time. So, for now I will leave you with a few snaps from the city and from hanging out at Folklife yesterday. I am so happy to have arrived in Seattle in time for this event.

P.S. Thanks so much Polo Mansion folks for putting me up. Unthank you Susie for trying to eat my face.

P.P.S. Retrospective posts of the last 10 days, etc. to come shortly!!

Cruising down Pine St. to downtown Seattle.

 

Folklife Fest - What it's all about

International Fountain: Teeming with life and auditory candy in every direction

Performer pics need to be edited and will be posted shortly.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

